Courtesy : sportskeeda


“Brave India pulled off a great escape at SCG “.  “Defiant India holds on a famous draw”.

 “Courageous Ashwin survives hostile spell” .  “India’s Epic final day resistance “

“Pant turns tables on Aussies”

Some of the headlines on Aussies media after the great draw at SCG by India. So much acrimony went into the final day drama at SCG. India  did its homework well at SCG.

With a question mark hanging over staging the Final decider Test at GABBA cleared , as Indians accepted some relaxations in the Bio-bubble arrangements. 

As the two best test teams tied with 1-1  ready to clash for the final test at GABBA, Brisbane on the 15th Jan.2021 , the onus will be on Aussies as they have remained unbeaten here since 1988 ( in 31 tests).

Aussies won 40 of the 62 tests played here.  

The famous quartet bowling contingent at the disposal of the Aussies includes the pace trio, Cummins, Starc & Hazlewood and the lone spinner Nathan Lyon is raring to go at the throat of Indians.  In between them they have 109 wickets at GABBA.

And mind you, Aussies have won the last two tests played here by an Innings.

With 50% spectators ( 20,000) allowed with masks in and around the ground, the stage is set for a titanic encounter.

India couldn’t win a single test match here having played 5 tests previously though there were some creditable bowling performances by Indian bowlers   in the earlier outings like,

  1. Erapalli Prasanna  – 6/104 in 1968
  2. Bishen Singh Bedi – 5/55 in 1977 ( 1st innings)
  3. Madan Lal             –  5/72  in 1977 ( 2nd innings)
  4. Zaheer Khan         –  5/98 in 2003
  5. Kapil Dev               –  4/80 in 1991

 In fact this is the only traditional test centre where India didn’t win a test.  They could manage a draw in 2003 thanks to Zaheer Khan’s fiery opening spell.  

The Gabba is traditionally considered  a pacy wicket available in Australia. It generally offers healthy bounce and carry to the quicks while the stroke-makers thrive on the consistent bounce available.The groundsmen in  Australia have resisted the calls for a drop-in pitch, saying it will be difficult to replicate the traditional characteristics, if a drop-in pitch was installed.

With so much  heat being generated as who will upstage  the other, Sunil Gavaskar, the legend, whom the BG Trophy has been named, is very optimistic about India winning the Trophy by 2-1. 

Sunil Gavaskar declared that India will go on to win the series and breach the seemingly invincible Australian fortress in Brisbane as there is always a ‘first time’ to everything. The ‘Little Master’ concluded by emphatically stating that India will win the series 2-1 and retain the Border Gavaskar Trophy.

“I predicted on Australian television that India is going to win the series 2-1. At the moment the series is 1-1. I know that the Gabba in Brisbane is Australia’s fortress but India has the ability to take on the Australians. They (Australia) have hardly lost there since 1988 but there is always a first time. If Ajinkya Rahane and company do it, I won’t be surprised at all,” concluded Gavaskar.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s